Centre for Quantum Mathematics and Computation

This fall they’re opening a new Centre for Quantum Mathematics and Computation at Oxford University. They’ll be working on diagrammatic methods for topology and quantum theory, quantum gravity, and computation. You’ll understand what this means if you know the work of the people involved:

• Samson Abramsky
• Bob Coecke
• Christopher Douglas
• Kobi Kremnitzer
• Steve Simon
• Ulrike Tillman
• Jamie Vicary

All these people are already at Oxford, so you may wonder what’s new about this center. I’m not completely sure, but they’ve gotten money from EPSRC (roughly speaking, the British NSF), and they’re already hiring a postdoc. Applications are due on March 11, so hurry up if you’re interested!

They’re having a conference October 1st to 4th to start things off. I’ll be speaking there, and they tell me that Steve Awodey, Alexander Beilinson, Lucien Hardy, Martin Hyland, Chris Isham, Dana Scott, and Anton Zeilinger have been invited too.

I’m really looking forward to seeing Chris Isham, since he’s one of the most honest and critical thinkers about quantum gravity and the big difficulties we have in understanding this subject—and he has trouble taking airplane flights, so it’s been a long time since I’ve seen him. It’ll also be great to see all the other people I know, and meet the ones I don’t.

For example, back in the 1990’s, I used to spend summers in Cambridge talking about n-categories with Martin Hyland and his students Eugenia Cheng, Tom Leinster and Aaron Lauda (who had been an undergraduate at U.C. Riverside). And more recently I’ve been talking a lot with Jamie Vicary about categories and quantum computation—since was in Singapore some of the time while I was there. (Indeed, I’m going back there this summer, and so will he.)

I’m not as big on n-categories and quantum gravity as I used to be, but I’m still interested in the foundations of quantum theory and how it’s connected to computation, so I think I can give a talk with some new ideas in it.

You can use Markdown or HTML in your comments. You can also use LaTeX, like this: $latex E = m c^2 $. The word 'latex' comes right after the first dollar sign, with a space after it.

