Twitter

I’m now going to try to announce all my new writings in one place: on Twitter.

Why? Well, someone I respect said he’s been following my online writings, off and on, ever since the old days of This Week’s Finds. He wishes it were easier to find my new stuff all in one place. Right now it’s spread out over several locations:

Azimuth: serious posts on environmental issues and applied mathematics, fairly serious popularizations of diverse scientific subjects.

Google+: short posts of all kinds, mainly light popularizations of math, physics, and astronomy.

The n-Category Café: posts on mathematics, leaning toward category theory and other forms of pure mathematics that seem too intimidating for the above forums.

Visual Insight: beautiful pictures of mathematical objects, together with explanations.

Diary: more personal stuff, and polished versions of the more interesting Google+ posts, just so I have them on my own website.

It’s absurd to expect anyone to look at all these locations to see what I’m writing. Even more absurdly, I claimed I was going to quit posting on Google+, but then didn’t. So, I’ll try to make it possible to reach everything via Twitter.

Unlike Facebook, you don’t need to join Twitter to see what people put there. Furthermore, you can see it while blocking cookies. So, I feel okay about this approach to broadcasting my stuff to a larger audience. (Some of my best friends are very concerned with privacy. In fact, I lost touch with one when he said he would only communicate with me in encrypted emails.)

I currently have 4 followers.

21 Responses to Twitter

  1. glaebhoerl says:

    Yay! I know I’ve specifically lamented “I wish John Baez were on Twitter” before. Blogs (like this one) I can follow through RSS, but Google+ is a hard one without signing up for Google+…

  2. gasche says:

    I follow your blog through my syndication feed readers (RSS or Atom), and I think that offering this interface for more of your content (typically the Google+ posts) could also help seeing over the walls of the gardens that have them.

    Your decision could be a way to achieve this by just using one of the numerous twitter-to-rss converters ( eg. http://twitrss.me/ ): from now you have an easy answer for people willing to access your content in general as a syndication feed. (I wonder though whether you plan to keep your twitter feed just a list of reference, or also have more personal/off-topic/irrelevant comments in it; not that it would particularly affect my own choices.)

    Note that this could also be a way for you to automate some of that posting-on-twitter work, as they are tools going the other way that post over twitter things from an syndication feed. So giving each of your post sources a syndication feed, and then feeding that to twitter would be a way to make sure that (1) your decision stays in effect and requires minimal work on your end and (2) people that just want syndication feed for a subset of your concent (eg. Google+ blog) are also well served.

    • John Baez says:

      I’m sleepy now (Friday night here in Singapore) but I’ll look in this when I’m more awake, and tell you about my earlier not-so-happy attempts to automatically get posts from this WordPress blog to appear on Google+ in a nice way.

  3. That is a good news and welcome to Twitter :). Some of your followers have always been working with active spreading of your posts during their Twitter activity but it is always the best (and nicest) when The Source is there himself :) !

  4. Blake Stacey says:

    I am now following you on the Twitterhedron.

  5. Pity, I’ve been following you everywhere since the old days of TWF.
    By the way, I’m French, I’ve translated some of your fantastic posts of TWF to some friends for private discussion, maybe some day I’ll translate more of them, do I have your permission?

    • John Baez says:

      Pity? Usually we say that when someone just did something unfortunate.

      Anyway, I’m glad you’ve been able to keep track of my various writings and very happy that you translated some of them into French. Feel free to translate things and put those translations online. I just ask that you 1) credit me, 2) create a link to the original article, and 3) let me know, because I’ll enjoy seeing the translations. Thanks!

  6. Bruce McNeill says:

    Will your posting still appear on WordPress?

  7. And is 72033757 meaningful?

  8. Hi John,

    I have looked at your very interesting lecture on the number 5 on You tube. I am an artist who has worked on Penrose tiling symmetries for some years. I find that the best way to structure such symmetries is to build the basic shapes (2 for Penrose tiling, 3 for tiles with heptagonal angles) into overlapping clusters. These serve as building blocks that can be arranged to have their central point on the junctions of an enlarged (meta) cluster. In essence, the cluster provides a matrix for distributing the arrangements of (smaller) cluster symmetries.

    It is also possible to arrange the basic shapes as simple rows of tiles (each row containing one type of shape oriented in the same direction to create a checkerboard). This then can also serve as a matrix for arranging the Penrose tiling clusters. This way it should be possible to demonstrate that the tiling does cover the plane and repeat itself.

    If you would like some images of pentagonal and heptagonal Penrose tiling for your collection, feel free to email me.

You can use Markdown or HTML in your comments. You can also use LaTeX, like this: $latex E = m c^2 $. The word 'latex' comes right after the first dollar sign, with a space after it.

